Yangtze Normal University

Why Study at Yangtze Normal University, China

Yangtze Normal University is the only Undergraduate university as the pivot of "one circle and two wings" strategy practiced in Chongqing, located at Fuling District of Chongqing. Since September 2006, Fuling Normal University was upgraded into Yangtze Normal University. It has experienced educational reform for over eighty years. It cover two campus, respectively in Lidu and Jiangdong totaling 127 hectares including buildings of 700 thousand square meters. It has 12 experimental training center, 4 municipal experimental teaching demonstrations and 290 Off-campus experimental bases with more than 20 thousands students and faculty and staff of 1042. There are 20 Secondary teaching units and 53 disciplines,involving over different fields: economics, humanities, management, engineering, agriculture, medicine and law, Foreign language Teaching and Research, Mathematics and Statistics and so on. It plays an important role in the layout of colleges and universities in Chongqing and has made outstanding contributions to the local economic construction and social development.

(1) History
The initial form of Yangtze Normal University could be traced from Fuling primary ordinary agricultural vocational school founded in 1937 in Sichuan Province. In 1968, Fuling District normal School was renamed as Fuling normal School, which belongs to Fuling District Reform Committee. Then the first higher normal School in Fuling District was established in 1982. In 1999, Fuling District Teachers' training School was merged into Fuling Normal School. Still hanging two brands, it became the  pre-service training, post-service training base for primary school teachers in Fuling. After that, Fuling University was changed into Fuling normal College. In 2006, Fuling Normal College was renamed again into the Yangtze Normal College. In June 2017, it was approved as the Experimental University for the Reform and Development of Aesthetic Education in Chongqing Colleges and Universities.
(2) Discipline and Program
Yangtze Normal University contains 20 secondary teaching units such as School of Arts, Politics and History, Management, Finance, Foreign languages, Faculty of Mathematics and Statistics, computer Engineering, Education, Electronic and Information Engineering, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Life Science and Technology and so on. There are 53 undergraduate courses covering literature, science, pedagogy, law, management, history etc, which are subject to multi-disciplinary integration, coordinated and complementary development. Besides, Chinese language language literature is the key subject especially for "11th Five-Year Plan" in Chongqing. The school is the training institution of the National training Plan for Junior Middle School principals of the Ministry of Education, is  the backbone teachers training base of primary and secondary schools in Chongqing, the three Gorges migrant labor skills training base of Chongqing, and the only minority preparatory education base in Chongqing.
(3) Academic facilities and Scientific research
Yangtze Normal University has 54 scientific research and innovation platforms at all levels and 16 innovation teams, including 6 research bases for international cooperation, 2 key research bases for humanities and social sciences and 2 engineering research centers in Chongqing. There are one engineering research center of Chongqing universities, 2 collaborative innovation centers of Chongqing, 2 key laboratories of Chongqing universities, 2 postdoctoral scientific research workstations and 7 scientific research and innovation teams above provincial and ministerial level. It has 1042 professional teachers. Among them, 20.27% are credited Doctorate degree. The total value of teaching and research instruments and equipment is nearly 210 million yuan. There are 12 experimental training teaching centers, 4 municipal experimental teaching demonstration centers and 290 practical teaching bases outside school. The total building area of the library is 35000 square meters, the total volume of books and periodicals is 1.6979 million. 33 databases in Chinese and foreign languages are ordered and self-built and 63 databases can be used by readers, and the capacity of digital resources is 48 TB.
(4) Yangtze Normal University Achievements
From 2015 to 2017, school teachers were responsible for 63 state-level projects such as the National Natural Science Fund and the Social Science Fund, 354 projects that national ministries and commissions and Chongqing Municipality support, and more than 200 horizontal scientific research projects. 577 SCI papers were published. 208 EIJA papers and 392 CSSCI papers were successfully issued. The number of patent applications for inventions has reached to 390, of which 164 have won authorizations. This university has fulfilled more than 20 new species identification and scientific and technological achievements. It was granted to the Ministry of Education Award for Excellence in scientific research as well as Chinese Folk Art Camelliae Award, Chongqing Social Science Outstanding Achievement Award, Chongqing Science and Technology Award etc. In 2016, 8 national projects and 6 new projects on humanities and social sciences were successfully approved under the Ministry of Education. Moreover, 180 invention have been applied for patent applications including one successful transfer of new species, 2 technological transfers with the total value of 1.14 million CNY. 3 projects are added into the list of excellent projects of Chongqing Universities.
(5) Communication and International Cooperation
Yangtze Normal University is committed to international exchanges. Since 2004, it welcome overseas students from 16 countries like the US, Mexico, Australia, Poland, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Fiji, Congo, Yemen, Kazakhstan, Burundi, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malaysia, Indonesia. It also has developed cooperation and exchanges with following universities: The University of West Virginia in the United States, the University of Coventry in the United Kingdom, the University of AidiScoven in Australia, the University of Korea and Caotang University, and the Royal University of Nathaniwan in Thailand. It practiced a cooperative mechanism as sending foreign students to each other and joint talents training scheme"1+2+1". Over 120 teacher were subsidized to study abroad for further study and overseas students have reached to more than 180 coming from Poland, Thailand, Kazakhstan, Zambia, Congo, Zimbabwe, Yemen, Burundi and other countries and so on.
The final information is subject to the University If there is any discrepancy!