Anhui Agricultural University

Why Study at Anhui Agricultural University, China

Anhui Agricultural University (AAU) is located in Hefei; capital city of Anhui Province, China. AAU is a key university specialized in agriculture with a long history, comprehensive disciplines and extensive social influences. It is supported by Anhui Provincial Government, jointly with China Ministry of Agriculture since 2011 and with China Bureau of Forestry since 2014. In 2012 it was approved by Chinese central government as one of the first ten universities nationwide to establish a Research Institute for New Rural Development, and in 2013 selected as one of the “distinctive universities with unique features” in Anhui Province. AAU now has 18 schools, with a full-time enrollment of 21,246 students, 2,706 out of whom are postgraduates. Among the 1,678 teaching staff, 661 have professorship or associate professorship, out of whom 700 work as PhD and master students’ supervisors.

1. History

Anhui Agricultural University (AAU) started its history from College of Agriculture in 1935 under Provincial Anhui University founded in 1928; it became an independent higher learning institution in 1954.  In 1982, Anhui Agricultural College obtains the tea and wood processing professional master's degree. In 1995, Anhui agricultural college was renamed Anhui Agriculture University. In 1998, Anhui Agricultural University was approved as a doctorate authorized unit. In 2012 it was approved by Chinese central government as one of the first ten universities nationwide to establish a Research Institute for New Rural Development, and in 2013 selected as one of the “distinctive universities with unique features” in Anhui Province.

2. Discipline and Programs

At present Anhui Agricultural University has 80 undergraduate programs, including 5 national-level ones of distinctive features, plus 2 national instructional teams, 2 national boutique courses, 1 national massive online open course. In terms of postgraduate education, there is 1 national key discipline candidate, 17 provincial key disciplines, 5 post-doctoral mobile research stations, 5 A-level and 32 B-level PhD programs, as well as 18 A-level, 71 B-level and 7 special master programs.

AAU has 18 schools, including School of Agronomy, School of Plant Protection, School of Horticulture, School of Forestry & Landscape Architecture, School of Animal Science and Technology, School of Tea & Food Science, School of Natural Sciences, School of Life Science, School of Resources & Environment, School of Engineering, School of Textile Engineering and Art, School of Information & Computer Science, School of Economics & Management, School of Humanities & Social Sciences, School of Foreign Languages and School of Economics & Technology.

3. Academic Facilities and Scientific Research

Anhui Agricultural University campus covers an area of 235 hectares, with a floor space of 780K square meters. There are 59 labs for basic academic courses, 28 general and 3 special research institutions, as well as some other teaching-research-aided departments, such as Biotechnology Center, the school library and the Records Office, and the Administrative Center of Agricultural Garden and Experimental Stations. 10 field practice or internship bases are on the campus while 121 out of campus. The up-to-date school library has a holding of 1,320,000 volumes with the modern information service and internet access. AAU has a very strong strength in research, possessing 1 national and 29 provincial key laboratories, 2 provincial “2011 synergic innovative centers”, 1 innovation team under the “Yangtze River Scholar and Innovative Team Development Plan” supported by China Ministry of Education and 9 provincial-level teams. Six scientists from AAU are appointed on the posts of national modern agricultural extension technology networks.

4. Anhui Agricultural University Achievement

During the recent five years, AAU has been granted 333 projects funded by Chinese central government and won 88 awards of provincial or ministerial levels, including 1 second prize of National Sci-tech Progress, 4 first prizes of Provincial Sci-tech Progress, and 1 Provincial Sci-tech Big Achievement Award, plus 3 second prizes of National Instructional Achievements.

Firmly aimed at serving “Agriculture, Countryside and Farmers”, AAU has always dedicated itself to developing rural areas via sci-tech and developing Anhui via sci-edu during the past 80 years, and has successfully created a well-known Dabieshan Road, integrated of advancing the university with instructional innovations and overcoming poverty. It has made such significant achievements in Anhui agricultural modernization and local economic growth that it is highly appreciated by China Central Government leaders LIU Yandong and LI Yuanchao.

 At present, moving towards an international standard agricultural university with its own distinctive features, AAU is undertaking more reforms in all-rounded aspects and advancing itself even further with intrinsic values and synergic innovations, to provide better service and make greater contributions to its community.

5. Communication and International Cooperation

With an open-minded strategy for educational internationalization, AAU has set up close links with universities and research institutes from over 30 countries and regions, such as US, UK, Canada, Japan, Germany and Australia. In 2011 AAU was ratified respectively by China Association of Science and Technology as one of “Anhui Overseas Talents’ Agricultural Bases” and by China Ministry of Education as one of Chinese universities to admit international students funded by China Scholarship. In 2012 China Ministry of Agriculture conferred to AAU one of its foreign language training centers for the South-South Cooperation Project. And a “National Demonstrative Sci-tech Cooperation Base” was approved in 2014 as well.



The final information is subject to the University If there is any discrepancy!