Beijing Information Science and Technology

Why Study at Beijing Information Science and Technology University, China

As a key school supervised by Beijing Municipality, Beijing Information Science and Technology University is located in Haidian District of Beijing, with its five campuses, namely Xiaoying, Jianxiangqiao, Qinghe, Jintailu, and Jiuxianqiao, covering an area of 500 Mu and 331700 square meters of buildings. The new campus covering an area of 1183.6 Mu is now under construction. Since the formal establishment of BISTU , centered on development demand of the nation, municipality and industries and seizing the substantial opportunities in construction of Beijing into a World City and integration of Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei, the University actively adjusts academic disciplines, continues advancing talent-cultivation mode, and conducts reform on internal mechanisms. 

Formally approved by Ministry of Education, Beijing  Information  Science and Technology University (BISTU) was the merger of Beijing Institute of Machinery (BIM) and Beijing Institute of Information (BIT) in 2008. BIM was supervised Ministry of Machinery and its predecessor was Beijing Machinery Industry Management Junior College established in 1986. History of BIM could trace back to Peiping Advanced Business School established in 1937 and National Peiping Advanced Industrial School. BIM was supervised by Ministry of Electronics Industry and its predecessor was No. 2 Branch School of Peking University founded in 1978.
(2)Discipline and programs
The University has 17 schools (academic divisions/education centers), namely Postgraduate School, School of Electromechanical Engineering, School of Instrumentation Science and Opto-electronics Engineering, School of Information & Communication Engineering, School of Automation, School of Computer Science, School of Economics and Management, School of Information Management, School of Political Education, School of Media & Public Administration, School of Foreign Studies, School of Applied Sciences, School of International Education, Division of Physical Education, School of Continuing Education, Computing Center, and Electromechanical Experiment and Training Center. The University distinguishes itself with featured education in 36 undergraduate programs, covering the disciplines of engineering, management, science, economics, and literature. Of the programs, 4 are national-construction feature programs and 8 are Beijing preferential construction programs. Three programs, i.e., Automation, Communication Engineering, and Internet Engineering, are listed in MOE Planning for Engineers of Excellence, Detection and Control Technology and Instruments has been accredited by Engineering Education, and two programs.
(3)Academic facilities and Scientific research 
The  quality faculty team is composed of 834 full-time academic teachers, of whom 41% are doctoral degree holders, 124 are professors or holding senior professional titles, and 294 are associated professors or holding associated senior professional titles. Of the faculties, 333 are master supervisors and 22 are Ph.D. supervisors. The faculty team is honoured for 2 duplex-engaged Academicians, 2 high-level overseas talents, 1 distinguished professor, 3 guest professors. Various honours have been awarded to the faculty team, including 1 honoured for Chief Expert of municipal universities, 1 listed in National Talent Project, 3 listed in New Century Talent Project of Beijing Municipality, 2 Beijing Scholars, 4 Great Wall Scholars of municipal universities, and 1 Leading Pioneers of Technical Beijing. With their excellent contribution to education, the faculties have also been awarded a series of honours, such as 2 National Teacher of Excellence, 9 Municipal Teacher of Excellence, 1 National Teaching Team of Excellence, 1 Team of Innovation of MOE, 8 Teaching Team of Excellence of Beijing Municipality, 8 Beijing Teacher of Preeminence, 24 Team of Innovation among municipal universities, 15 Innovative Talents, 26 Outstanding Leading Talents, and 107 Key Teachers of Beijing Planning of Education Enhancement. 
(4)Beijing  Information  Science and Technology University Achievement
 From 2007 to 2009, the University has won four national level science and technology awards as the first author. The three years between 2011 and 2014 witnessed rapid progress of BISTU in science and technology research: 31 science and technology awards of provincial level or above, 2 prizes for progress in science and technology of MOE, 9 prizes for progress in science and technology of the Municipality, 7 prizes for science and technology of China machinery industry, 140 patent licensing items, and 4,041 academic essays published (of which 1,122 are included by EI, SCI and ISTP, 600 in Core Journals in Chinese of Peking University, and 88 in CSSCI). Academic research of the University is also supported with high growth rate of funding and steady growth in national level advanced projects.The University was also the first to be approved as pilot unit for entity motivation of Zhongguancun Science Park, which gave birth to construction of University Science Park of Beijing. And Beijing Institute of High-end Information and Industrial Technology is also established at BISTU. Collaborative Innovation Center for Electric Vehicles in Beijing, with contribution of BISTU, has been listed as 2014 national collaborative innovation center. Construction of Collaborative Center for Circular Economic System (Industry) of Beijing as World City, led by the University, has been listed as breeding projects of 2011. 
(5)Communication and international cooperation
The University continues to boost globalization of education. As of today, inter-school cooperative relationship has been established between BISTU and over 40 universities in the U.S., Germany, Britain, France, and regions like Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Macao. Cooperative programs are actively conducted in the field of scientific research, mutual visits of faculties, training of administrative staff, further education for English and bilingual teachers, dual degrees for undergraduate students, and joint master and doctoral degree programs. The University has also been honoured with 6 honorary members of University Academic Committee who are all presidents of international institutions and 16 honorary professors including Nobel Economics Prize winner Professor Robert Mundell. The University also established School of International Education, aiming at expanding and scale and enhancing the quality of studying in China program. Currently the School has 180 international students from all corners of the world. 
The final information is subject to the University If there is any discrepancy!