Anhui Medical University

Why Study Medicine at Anhui Medical University, China

Brief Introduction

Anhui Medical University (AMU), established in 1926, is one of the oldest medical universities in China, a key university in Anhui Province, and also the first authorized university to admit Doctors of Medicine and Medical postdoctoral students in Anhui Province. It is located in Hefei, the capital city of Anhui Province, in the east of central China, 40 minutes from Shanghai by flight, and honored as “the city with State Innovation of Science and Technology”. Around the two campuses are some of the renowned universities and institutions, such as University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), Hefei Institutes of Physical Sciences of China Academy of Science (CASHIPS), and Hefei University of Technology (HUT).

1. History

Anhui Medical University, formerly Shanghai Southeast Medical College, was founded in Shanghai by a group of overseas students with M.D degree who returned from Japan in 1926. The idea of those pioneers was to create a medical university to save Chinese people suffering from diseases in the hard time. Shanghai Southeast Medical College relocated to Anhui Province in 1949 and became the first medical college of Anhui Province. In 1952, it renamed as Anhui Medical College. It officially became Anhui Medical University in June 1996. The university has grown significantly after the past decades.

2. Discipline Construction

The spectrum of subjects has steadily been extended and now has developed into a comprehensive medical university. Different undergraduate programs and courses are being offered in 29 special fields of study, and one 7-year bachelor-master program (clinical medicine). Anhui Medical University has been qualified to award master's degree in 74 specialties and doctor’s degree in 26 specialties. And it has been authorized to establish 3 post-doctorial scientific research programs: pharmacy, clinical medicine, public health and preventive medicine. Besides, it has 12 National Key Disciplines. In the international education of medicine, Anhui Medical University leads the medical educational, especially in MBBS of enrolling international students. Over 600 foreign students study medicine in Anhui Medical University. 

3. Campus Overview

Anhui Medical University consists of 25 Schools and Departments, 25 provincial laboratories, totally, 18,600 enrolled students, among whom medical ones predominate and the number of international students reaches 600 among the medical students. The university consists of two parts---the main campus and the southern campus covering entirely an area of 860,000 square meters. Its library has a collection of 840,000 volumes and 30,000 kinds of periodical and journals as well as e-journals. It is equipped with a campus computer network, which is also a center in Anhui for sharing biological and medical information across the nation on Internet. The library has broad relations with other libraries, schools and research institutions both at home and abroad. The campus is seated on South No.1 Ring-Road of Hefei, with good environment and easy access.

4. Affiliated Hospitals

Anhui Medical University insists on an important concept since its foundation to promote interdisciplinary combination of teaching and scientific research with clinical activities. An important step in combining the strength of medication and medical research was the realization of the necessity of establishing additional laboratories and affiliated hospitals for students practice and young scientists training. The Teaching and Research Building in the campus provides both domestic and returned overseas scientists with well-equipped laboratories and net access. Anhui Medical University has over 30 hospitals for students practicing across the country, among those 5 are directly affiliated to the university, which enjoy high reputation in the east of the central country and other three newly set up hospitals have been put into use since years ago, with a total number of 4000 sickbeds. These affiliated hospitals fulfill their functions and perform their duties in clinical treatment, research, teaching, and courses of study.

5. Significant Achievements

In addition to the “hardware” construction, the university has been focusing on both basic and applied research, ranking in top one of the province-owned academic institutions in the grant harvest from the National Science Foundation of China (NSFC) and featuring several recognized special areas such as dermatology and venereal diseases, which is now the National Key Discipline with several significant achievements in Genome-wide Association Study (GWAS) of psoriasis and other dermal lesions. Pharmacology shares one of the main research areas and involves the screening and characterization of efficacious compounds from Traditional Chinese Medical Herbs. This subject was the first one to be granted independent doctorial degree award in the province. Other disciplines including epidemiology, infectious diseases (microbiology and parasitological), aging and regenerative research, maternal and child care, gastroenterology, neurology and psychology, gynecology and obstetrics, and organ transplantations, etc. are also responsible for fostering the new generation of scientists and further training of staff and recognized as well for their talents and overwhelming achievements in the state.

6. Communication and Cooperation

Anhui Medical University has built up close links with comprehensive or medical colleges and universities of Asian, European and American countries. 

International communication and cooperation as follows:


Harvard University (USA)

Mayo Clinic in USA (USA)

Sino-Canada Children Foundation (Canada)

Alberta Center for International Education (Canada)

National Orel University (Russia)

Hanseo University (Korea)

Semui Institute (Japan)

Chiba University (Japan)

University of Bari (Italy)

Karolinska Medical Institute (Sweden)

Karolinska Institute of Sweden (Sweden)

Allergy Research Centre of Denmark (Denmark) 

University of Ulm (Germany)

University of Heidelberg (Germany)

Hannour Medical University in Germany (Germany)

Osnabruck University of Applied Science of Germany (Germany)

Brain Research Institute of Royal Academy of Social Science of Netherlands (Netherlands)

Middlesex University (Britain)

The University of France-Comte (France)

The University of Waikato (New Zealand)


The final information is subject to the University If there is any discrepancy!