Southwest University

Why Study at Southwest University, China

Brief Introduction 

Southwest University (SWU) is a comprehensive and national key university sponsored by the Ministry of Education of China. Southwest University was founded in July, 2005, by the amalgamation of two formerly individual universities, Southwest China Normal University and Southwest China Agriculture University. The history of both universities can be traced back to 100 years ago. It is one of the "211 Project" universities (top 100) which get preferential support for their development and construction from the Central Government of China. Now the total number of the students at Southwest University has reached more than 80 000, among them 50 000 are full-time students. There are many international students working for their bachelors, masters, doctors degrees and advanced studies in Southwest University every year. Southwest University is located in Chongqing municipality, which is the central city in the Western China Development Project. The Three Gorges, Dazu Stones Carving and Hotpot Food are worldwide famous and unique. Southwest University began to enroll international students in the 1950's. It is also one of the universities designated by the Ministry of Education to enroll Chinese Government Scholarship students. Most of the international students in Southwest University are now majoring in Chinese language, Pedagogy, Psycology, Economics, Business in China, Chinese Minorities Studies, Life Sciences, Food Sciences, Agriculture, Fine Arts, and Chinese Martial Arts, etc. The qualified International students in Southwest University have the privileges and chances to get Chonqing Mayor Scholarships and Southwest University Excellent Overseas Students Scholarship. In addition Southwest University is donating a share of Integrative Insurance for Medical Care and Accidents for every long term overseas student.

(1). History 

Southwest University (SWU) is a key comprehensive university, under the direct administration of the Ministry of Education. It was newly established in July 2005 through the incorporation of former Southwest China Normal University and Southwest Agricultural University upon the approval of the Ministry of Education. Southwest University is situated nearby the beautiful Jialing River, and is located at the foot of Jinyun Mountain, a state level scenic spot, in Beibei District, Chongqing Municipality. 

The former Southwest China Normal University was one of the key comprehensive universities under the direct jurisdiction of the Ministry of Education. Originally it was named Southwest Teachers College and was established through the merging of the former National Women's Teachers College and the Sichuan Provincial Educational College in 1950. It was then renamed Southwest China Normal University in 1985. 

The former Southwest Agricultural University was established in 1950, originally being named Southwest Agricultural College. This university was established through the merging of relevant sections and departments of the former Sichuan Provincial Educational College, the Western China University and Xianghui College. Approved by the State Council, it became one of the national key universities in 1979, and was then renamed Southwest Agricultural College followed by Southwest Agricultural University in 1985. In 2001, a new Southwest Agricultural University was established through combining with the former Sichuan Animal Husbandry and Veterinary College, the Citrus Research Institute of Chinese Academy of Agriculture. 

Before being united, Southwest China Normal University and Southwest Agricultural University were neighbors with only a wall separating the two institutions. Both universities had a long historic relationship, which could be traced back to their common origin, i.e. East Sichuan Teachers College in 1906. 

(2). Discipline and programs

Southwest University covers a very broad range of studies including philosophy, economics, law, pedagogies, literature, history, science, engineering, agriculture and management. The university now offers 5 state level key disciplines, 55 provincial/ministry level key disciplines, 22 postdoctoral programs, 68 doctoral programs, 161 master's programs and 107 bachelor's programs. Southwest University is known nationwide for its teaching methodological and agricultural studies. Studies in Pedagogy, psychology and agriculture have distinguished predominance in China. 

(3). Academic facilities and Scientific research

Southwest University is known nationwide for its teacher education and agricultural researches. Majors in pedagogy, psychology and agriculture enjoy distinguished predominance in China; and the research of Silkworm Genome is top in the world. A great deal of creative research fruits have been achieved in the fields of Zero Tillage Cultivation, Silkworm Genome, Education and Psychology of Southwestern Minorities, and Human Time Cognition, etc.

Southwest University has a strong research capability. She has built Chongqing Beibei National University Science Park, a national key laboratory, a national engineering research center, one Ministry-Municipality Key Laboratory Breeding Base, 10 key laboratories sponsored by Ministry of Education / Ministry of Agriculture, 3 Engineering Research Centers sponsored by Ministry of Education, 3 “111 Project” innovation talent recruitment bases, 2 national field observation stations, 2 scientific observation experimental stations sponsored by Ministry of Agriculture, 2 field bases sponsored by Ministry of Land and Resources, 1 key research base for humanities and social sciences sponsored by Ministry of Education, 13 key research bases for humanities and social sciences sponsored by Chongqing Municipality. The past five years have seen a substantial growth in the number of research projects and the amount of funding, with the annual growth rate of more than 30%.

(4). Great achievements 

Southwest University focus on their own advantages to serve the local economic and social development. It established New Rural Development Research Institute of Southwestern University and established strategic partnership with a number of leading enterprises in more than 30 counties, prefectures and cities such as Chongqing, Sichuan, Yunnan, Guizhou in China. Besides, it has science and technology cooperation with nearly 200 counties and cities in more than 20 provinces in China, and achieved remarkable economic and social benefits. The corporation with county school of Shizhu Tujia Autonomous County of Chongqing City, has been widely praised, known as the combination of production and research, “Shizhu model".

Other great achievements include natural fallowing, silkworm gene bank, southwest ethnic education and psychology research, and human time cognition and so on. Hundreds of new technologies and achievements have brought with outstanding social and economic benefits.

 (5). Communication and international cooperation 

Till now, Southwest University has had close communication and cooperation in research and academic studies with international universities and/or institutes from more than 30 countries and/or regions, including the US, UK, France, Germany, Japan, Australia, Russia and Canada etc., and enjoys long term partnership with over 20 of these universities.



The final information is subject to the University If there is any discrepancy!